ECTN Electronic Cargo Tracking Note


For exports in certain african countries require an ECTN (Electronic Cargo Tracking Note) / Waiver. It gives the countries the

possibility to control there imports. All information with reservation!


Transports which require an ECTN:

By seafreight as FCL, LCL, conventional and RO/RO loads.


ECTN request:

Each country has its own agents for the request of the ECTN. The ECTN must be applied strictly before shipment and must be

cited in the Bill of Lading.


Shipments without ECTN:

All shipments that do not have a valid ECTN number, will not unloaded at the port of destination until a valid ECTN number was

organized. All penalties and costs incurred by the customs office, shipping company and port company have to be paid by the



Countries and ports which require an ECTN:

Angola: Luanda, Lobito

Benin: Cotonou


Burkina Faso: Ouagadougou

Cameroun: Douala, Yaounde

Central African Republic: Bangui

Congo: Pointe Noire

Cote D’Ivoire: Abidjan, San Pedro

Dem. Rep. of Congo: Matadi, Kinshasa

Equatorial Guinea

Gabon: Libreville, Port Gentil

Ghana: Tema, Takoradi, Kumasi, Accra,...

Guinea: Conaky

Guinea-Bissau: Bissau


Madagascar: Toamasina, Antanarivo

Mali: Bamako

Niger: Niamey

Senegal: Dakar

Sudan: Port Sudan, Khartoum


Togo: Lome


Example of ECTN names in different countries:

Angola: LC = Loading Certificate

Cameroun: BESC = Bordereau Electronique de Suivi de Cargaison

Dem. Rep. of Congo: FERI = Fiche Électronique des Renseignements à l‘Importation

Niger: BSC = Bordereau de Suivi de Cargaison

Gabon: BIETC = Bordereau d’Identification Électronique de Traçabilité des Cargaisons

Senegal: BSC = Bordereau de Suivi de Cargaison or BESC = Bordereau Electronique de Suivi de Cargaison