Export regulations for wood packaging:

ISPM 15 = the International Standard for Phytosanitary Measures, publication no. 15, Regulation of wood packaging material (WPM) in international trade. Only the original constitution is binding, with reservations.


The regulations prevent, the worldwide spread of plant pests and diseases by using specially treated wooden packaging material (WPM).


All treated WPM will have the IPPC mark, as shown below:

IPPC marks
IPPC marks

AT = 2 letter ISO country code (AT=Austria)

1234 = numbers of the packaging company

HT = indicates the type of treatment, either HT (Heat Treatment), MB (Methyl Bromide) or DB (debarked)


Wood quality ISPM 15:

Free of bark, free from signs of insect infestation, without massive fungal infestation.


Wood treatment ISPM 15:

Heat treatment at a core temperature of 56° Celsius for at least 30 minutes or fumigation with methyl bromide.


Except for Australia:

Heat treatment min. 74° Celsius for 18h for example at 200 mm wood thickness or fumigation with Methyl Bromide 48g/m³ for 24 hours and max. 200 mm wood thickness. Additional documents: phytosanitary certificate (permethrin treatment), plant health certificate or certificate of treatment company.


Exceptions for Elfenbeinküste, Kasachstan and Senegal:

Phytosanitary certificate is required and no ISPM 15 procedure.


Except for Hongkong:

The quality of the wood must be free of plant pests and no ISPM 15 procedure. Attention by ttransit transport, for example to China.



Ägypten, Algerien, Argentinien, Australien, Bolivien, Brasilien, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Dominikanische Republik, Ecuador, Elfenbeinküste, Französisch-Polynesien, Guatemala, Honduras, Hongkong, Indien, Indonesien, Iran, Israel, Jamaika, Japan, Jordanien, Kamerun, Kanada, Kasachstan, Kenia, Kolumbien, Kroatien, Kuba, Lesotho, Libanon, Malaysia, Marokko, Mexiko, Mosambik, Neuseeland, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norwegen, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippinen, Russland, Samoa, Senegal, Seychellen, Sri Lanka, Südafrika, Süd Korea, Surinam, Syrien, Taiwan, Trinidad & Tobago, Türkei, Ukraine, Uruguay, USA, Usbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam und Weißrussland.